Link News 6

8 University Campuses In Nairobi To Be SHUT DOWN

This message is to create awareness to parents and students in Nairobi. According to report by in the newspapers , Eight university satellite campuses located within Nairobi city center are set to be shut down in the next six months because they do not meet accreditation status stipulated by the Commission for University Education (CUE).

The logos of the universities facing closure.

In an advertisement on national newspapers, the Commission said the eight campuses failed to meet accreditation status, even though they are all operational and are currently offering courses to students.

“Any university operating an unauthorized satellite campus in Nairobi is in contravention of the Universities Act No. 42 of 2012,” the Commission said in the advert.

The satellite campuses facing closure are

  1.  St Paul’s University campus located along Moi Avenue, Church House.
  2. Egerton University campus in Stanbank House.
  3. Africa Nazarene University campuses in Agrho House and Stanbank House.
  4. South Eastern Kenya University campus in Development house.
  5. Dedan Kimathi University of Technology campuses in Union Towers and Biashara Plaza.
  6. Multi-Media University of Kenya campus located in City Square Post Office Building
  7. Masinde Muliro University campus on Kingsway Building
  8. Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology campus in Westlands

The Commission for University Education is mandated to regulate establishment of satellite campuses in the country and has authority to close down any unauthorised institution.

A statement on it’s website on the criteria for accreditation reads: “For any institutions to be accredited, the Commission must be satisfied that the institution concerned has adequate physical, human, library and financial resources, viable relevant academic programmes and sound structure of governance.”

Some of the university satellite campuses in Nairobi that have been fully accredited by the Commission and  safe for learners to enroll include:

  1. Moi University campus at Bazaar Plaza.
  2. Mount Kenya University campuses in Parklands, MKU Towers, Union Towers and Bank Plaza.
  3. Kenyatta University campuses located on Haile Selassie Avenue and Parklands
  4. Laikipia University’s Upper Hill Campus
  5. University of Eastern Africa, Baraton’s extension centre on Ring Road
  6. Pan African Christian University on Valley Road
  7. Kenya Methodist University campuses located in Kemu Towers and along University way

The commission further named three other satellite campuses in Nairobi that have been issued a provisional accreditation. These are KCA University in Monrovia Plaza, Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology Karen Campus and Kisii University branch in Corner House.


Credits : Nairobinews

Ad Blocker Detected!

Please disable ad blocker to read our stories for Free


Log In

Or with username:

Forgot password?

Don't have an account? Register

Forgot password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.